Umar receives ICC T20 Performance of the Year award

umar-gulISLAMABAD: Pakistan pacer Umar Gul, who has been out of action since the Pakistan-South Africa earlier this year, received the International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty-20 Performance of the Year award on Friday.

The announcement was made ahead of the broadcast of the LG ICC Awards 2013 TV show which premieres on Saturday in most countries across the globe. The show is hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting who won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in 2006 and 2007, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and was appointed captain of ICC’s ODI Team of the Year in 2007, 2008 and 2010, says a press release issued here.

Also joining Umar, on the winners list are Australia captain Michael Clarke who won the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, India’s Cheteshwar Pujara, claimed his first-ever ICC award after being named the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year, New Zealand captain Suzie Bates won the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award, Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was revealed as the LG People’s Choice award winner, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, England’s Sarah Taylor clinched the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row, Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena won his second ICC Spirit of Cricket award, and Richard Kettleborough of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year.

In total there are 11 individual awards, as well as the two ICC Teams of the Year for Tests and ODIs.

The ICC Test Team of the Year includes Alastair Cook (England Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Michael Clarke (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), MS Dhoni (India wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), James Anderson (England), Vernon Philander (South Africa) and 12th Man Ravichandran Ashwin (India).

The ICC ODI Team of the Year comprises Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Shikhar Dhawan (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa), MS Dhoni (India wicketkeeper/captain), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Mitchell Starc (Australia), James Anderson (England), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) and 12th Man Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s