PK-50 by-polls: Candidates file nomination papers


Seven candidates, including a woman, filed their nomination papers with the returning officer on Tuesday to contest for by-elections in PK-50 Haripur-II.

According to an official at the office of Returning Officer Ziaullah Jan, seven contestants had filed their papers till evening, including independent candidates Babar Nawaz Khan, Shakil Razzak, Sheryar Khan Tareen, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Akbar Ayub Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Qazi Muhammad Asad Khan and Awami National Party candidate Irum Fatima along with one other.

PK-50 fell vacant in September when the election tribunal and later the Supreme Court disqualified PTI MPA Yusuf Ayub Khan for violating Articles 62 and 63 of the Constitution. His bachelor’s degree was challenged by Qazi Asad and was later proved to be fake.

The election commission has set December 17 as the last date to file nomination papers, whereas the by-election in PK-50 is scheduled for January 23.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s